top of page

Eline Magazine had the pleasure of interviewing the talented drummer and music producer Gashford Gui


Eline Magazine: Where and when were you born Gashford?


Gashford Guillaume: I was born on June 21st in Brooklyn, New York to Maurice & Bremelia Guillaume . My father Maurice played multiple instrumentalist. He played and taught brass, reed instruments as well as played the guitar, organ and piano. He wrote music and directed choirs while being a Minister.


E.M: Please tell me more about your family and your legacy of talent


Gashford Guillaume: Although my mother was not musically inclined, she was always the strong one of our family. I am the youngest child, the baby of the family! We are a family of music makers and creators. I grew up in a musical family. I was always around music. I learned a lot by watching my brothers perform, listening to their records and cd's and by playing in the church.


E.M: How did you start? What motivates you?


G.G: Ever since I was little, I have been passionate about music. I am not "traditionally" musically trained. Most of my training I either learned in High School or by playing with other musicians and gaining experience. I had a great time jamming and performing in my younger days. I am self-taught. The way I learned music was by playing and listening to the sounds others made. I practiced and did a lot of live performances and improved. I have always hung out with older musicians which was a great way to learn at a faster pace. I have always experienced music as a part of my life from my father at church to my brothers experimenting on drums and bass guitar. I was messing around with the instruments, you know when you are a kid you see a drum and immediately you want to try it out, hear the sounds. The drum looks more flashy. What is more elaborate or louder than a huge drum kit? It grabs the attention visually and musically. At that time my brothers were playing in different bands. I was always there to listen and watch them perform. When I was ready, they let me play. They encouraged me. I learned a great deal from the CDs, records and tapes. I listened to musical genres such as Pop, R&B, Soul, Jazz, Gospel and music from Haiti.


E.M: Gashford, do you like Jazz the most? I have always thought of you as a Jazz musician and performer.


G.G: I have always loved the sound of Jazz music and the variety of musical contexts it can be presented in. Jazz music is versatile. I've been exposed to many great musicians which kept me inspired and motivated. However, it's not all that I can play. I consider myself to be a diverse musician. I am putting a lot of time into jazz music these days, especially jazz fused with elements from Haiti. I feel it's the area where I can contribute the most to allow Haitian jazz to have the opportunity to be on bigger platform exposure wise. It is a smart move to be as versatile as possible (If it is your desire). People should not lump performers under one label we are all creative and we all have our own ways of expressing that creativity. If you find me performing solely in a jazz setting, you’re going to call me a jazz musician. If you see me playing commercial music you’ll definitely say that I am a commercial musician.

E.M: What’s your favorite artist or group?


G.G: The Yellow Jackets, the late bass player Jaco Pastorious, Herbie Hancock, Michael Brecker, Sting, The Police, Michael Jackson, Earth and Fire, Mint Condition to name a few.


E.M: Tell me about the artists or groups that you’ve worked with.


G.G: Besides working as a freelance musicians with many groups and artists, currently, I'm doing a lot of work with Emeline Michel. It has been an ongoing relationship for over 17 years. I played on four of her records. To this day, we are still performing and touring. My main group is Mozayik, we play Afro- Haitian Jazz music, the members are: Gene Torres, Eddie Bourjolly and myself with a supporting cast featuring, Jean Marie Brignol (Haitian drums) and Ted Cruz (piano). As you may know it’s been 14 years since I ‘ve been with this band. We have recorded 2 successful albums, we are working on our third album. Besides my long-standing relationship with Mozayik, I started my own group about a year ago that is called "Creole Fusion Ensemble. The music we play allows me to better express myself with the music that make up my personality who I am. Most of the songs we play are my compositions and arrangements.


E.M: Why you name your group Creole Fusion Ensemble?


G.G: I called it " Creole Fusion Ensemble" due to the fact that I play a large variety of music with varied styles, and I also want to keep the Creole element in my work.


E.M: Do you play Compas?


G.G: [Laugh] I can play it. Maybe not as well as a drummer that eats, drinks and sleep compas music though... I don’t consider myself to be a "compas drummer", [laugh] It’s not my specialty but I can definitely provide the rhythm when needed. If I have somebody playing percussion " map kale sinbal mwen nomalman"! As a Haitian it’s good to have an idea of the different types and styles of music from the culture. I appreciate Compas music from certain groups that I like such as: Carimi, Djakout Mizik, Harmonik and Zèklè that play Compas with a funky style."


E.M : Are you a person who cares about others?


G:G: I do offer my skills and talent to good causes, I have been supportive and donated many hours to help others. I had a workshop with the vocalist "Melanie Charles" in Haiti for young inspiring musicians and singers living there who are passionate about music. It was a great experience, I was able to see how music helped those kids get away from their day-to-day stressors and other difficulties with the help of performing arts. I love my culture, and I love Haiti. All the things that I am planning to give back will be related to music. We all need that.


E.M: What is your ambition?


G.G: My ambition is to elevate the beauty of Haitian music. "Haitian jazz music" is my area of expertise... It’s my strength. I want to use my strengths to put the Creole element in all my works so that audiences everywhere can appreciate new musical sounds and flavors and be inspired. I want to bring our music to the four corners of the world!


E.M: Any Hobbies?


G.G: I love sports, I play basketball, I run, enjoy weight lifting . I have some kitchen skills as well. [Laughs]


E.M: What is your favorite quote?


G.G: "Vision without action is a dream. Action without vision is simply passing time".


E.M: How do you deal with conflict?


G.G: There's always going to be conflict. The most important thing for me is the vision. To me, “the vision is what keeps everything together“. When you’re in a band, you’re dealing with different personalities. It's a team with a common goal. Compromising is necessary at times. I am so fortunate to be part of Mozayik, and I see many more years of music making with the group. The music that we play has a long shelf life! That's the beautiful thing about jazz music. It doesn’t become outdated or old-fashioned. Today,we enjoy jazz music from the 40's, 50's & 60’s, don’t we?


E.M: Do you dance? [Laughs]

G.G: [laugh] Yes! I can dance. Once you understand the rhythm it's easy to dance!

E.M: Thank you Gashford for sharing your experience and wisdom with us today

Version Française

Eline Fleury d'Eline Magazine a le plaisir d'interviewer le talentieux batteur et musique producteur Gashford Guillaume

E.M: Où et quand êtes-vous né, Gashford?


G G:. Je suis né le 21 Juin à Brooklyn, New York mon père et ma mère sont Maurice et Brémélia Guillaume. Mon père joue plusieurs instruments, il joue et enseigne les cuivres et les instruments à anche , il joue la guitar, l’orgue et le piano. En tant que Pasteur et chef de chorale mon père écrivait aussi de la musique tout au long de son ministère.


E.M: Parlez-moi un peu de votre famille et votre héritage de talent?”


G G: Bien que ma mère n’a pas été porté vers la musique, elle suportait notre famille. Je suis le benjamin de la famille, nous sommes une famille de créateur de musique. J’ai grandi dans une maison remplie de son, de musique et de différents rythmes. J’ai beaucoup appris en observant mes frères performés, en écoutant les cassettes et cd qu’ils avaient et aussi en jouant à l’église.


E.M: Qu’est ce qui vous a poussé à faire la musique?”


G.G: Depuis que j’étais petit j’ai toujours été passionné de la musique. Je n’ai pas reçu de formation professionnelle dans le domaine musicale, mais j’ai acqueri certaines connaissances musicales au l'école et en jouant avec d’autres musiciens j’ai gagné de l’expérience. Je suis autodidacte, j’ai appris la musique en jouant et en écoutant les sons d’autres font. J’ai beaucoup pratiqué et participer dans beaucoup de spectacles. Je me suis entrainé avec des musiciens plus âgés ce qui était un excellent moyen d’apprendre plus rapidement . J’ai toujours su que la musique ferait partie de ma vie de mon père à l’église à mes frères expérimentent à la batterie et la guitare basse. Je jouais avec les instruments, vous savez quand vous êtes un enfant, vous voyez une batterie vous voulez immédiatement l’essayer et entendre les sons qu’elle produise. A cette époque mes frères jouaient dans différents groupes musicaux. J’étais toujours là pour les écouter et les regarder jouer. Quand j’étais prêt ils m’ont laissé jouer et m’encourageaint. J’ai beaucoup appris dans des CD, disques et cassettes et aussi en écoutant plusieurs genre de musique tels que Pop, R & B, Soul, Jazz, Gospel et la musique d’Haïti.

E.M: Gashford, aimez-vous le jazz le plus, j’ai toujours pensé que vous étiez un musicien de jazz?


G.G: J’aime le jazz mélangé avec un saveur haïtien. Je suis entouré d’artistes qui sont de véritables artistes de jazz. Certains ont tendance à me faire passer pour un musicien de jazz, toutefois, je tiens à être plus diversifié. Si vous m’écoutez jouer pop, rock et R&B vous aller penser que je suis pop, R&B ou bien Rock musicien et si vous me voyez jouez du jazz definitivement vous allez dire que je suis un jazz musicien. Néanmoins, en plus de jouer avec mon groupe de jazz " Mozayik", je suis aussi impliqué dans la pop et la musique du monde, c’ est un choix judicieux d’être aussi polyvalent que possible. Les gens ne devraient pas regrouper les artistes sous une seule étiquette - nous sommes tous créatifs et nous avons tous nos propres moyens d’exprimer cette créativité . Il est amusant [rires] c’est pourquoi j’aime jouer de la musique de fusion qui est un mélange de tous ces genres. Je suis polyvalent et capable de jouer presque tous les styles. Aujourd’hui, mon temps est consacré non seulement à faire du jazz, mais aussi du jazz incorporé de la musique du monde en particulier celle liée à Haiti.



E.M: Quel est votre artiste ou groupe préféré?"


G.G: Les Yellow Jackets, le defunt bassiste Jaco Pastorious, Herbie Hangcock, Sting, The Police, Michael Jackson, Earth and Fire, Mint Condition pour ne citer que ceux là.


E.M: Parlez-moi des artistes ou des groups avec qui vous avez travaillé.


G.G: Je travaille avec Emeline Michel cela fait 16 ans, j'ai joué dans quatre de ses albums et jusqu'à aujourd'hui je joues sur scène avec elle et dans ses tournées. Il fut un temps où je prenais 2 ou 3 ans de vacance mais mon groupe principal est Mozayik, nous jouons "Haïtien Africain Jazz ". Les membres du groupe sont: Gene Torres, Eddie Bourjolly, Jean Marie Brignol, Jean Guy René et Ted Cruz. Comme vous le savez peut-être Mozayik vient de fêter ses 14 ans. Nous avons enregistré deux albums à succès maintenant nous travaillons sur notre 3ème album. A côté de Mozayik j'ai créé mon propre groupe il ya un an de cela, je l'ai nommé " Créole Fusion Ensemble". Mon groupe est un moyen d'exprimer ma créativité, mes compétences et ma personnalité musicale.

E.M: Pourquoi vous avec nommé votre groupe "Créole Fusion Ensemble"?


G.G: Je l'ai appelé "Créole Fusion Ensemble" en raison du fait que je joue une grande variété de musique aux styles variés, et je tiens également à maintenir l'élément créole dans mon travail.


E.M: Jouez-vous du Compas?


G.G: [Rire] Je me débrouille, mais je ne me considère pas comme un batteur compas, [rire]. Ce n'est pas ma spécialité. Si j'ai quelqu'un avec moi jouant le tambour "map kale sinbal mwen nomalman". En Haïti, il est bon d'avoir une idée des différentes styles de musique, par consequent j'apprécie Compas de certains groupes que j'aime tels que: Carimi, T-Vice, Harmonik et Zèklè qui jouent Compas avec un style "funky" .


E.M: Êtes-vous une personne qui se soucie des autres?


G.G: J'ai offert mes compétences et talents à de bonnes causes. J'ai eu un atelier avec la chanteuse "Melanie Charles" en Haïti, pour les enfants qui y vivent et qui sont passionnés de musique. C'était une grande expérience, j'ai pu voir comment la musique a aidé ces enfants à s'éloigner de leurs problèmes quotidiens avec l'aide de l'art. J'aime ma culture et j'aime Haïti. Toutes les choses que j' ai l'intention de donner en retour seront liées à la musique. Nous avons tous besoin de cela.


E.M: Quelle est votre ambition?


G.G: Mon ambition est d'élever la beauté de la musique haïtienne. "La musique de jazz haïtien" est mon domaine d'expertise, c'est ma force, je veux l'utiliser dans mes oeuvres afin que n'importe quel public puisse apprécier et decouvrir ce que nous avons à offrir.


E.M: Quels sont tes loisirs?

G.G: J'aime le sport, je joue du basket ball, je cours, je prends plaisir à soulever des poids et je cuisine [Rires].

E.M: Quelle est votre citation préférée?

G.G: "Une vision sans action est un rêve, action sans vision est tout simlement une passe de temps"

E.M: Comment vous gérez les conflits?

G.G: Il va toujours y avoir de conflits dans ce monde, la chose la plus importante pour moi est la vision, pour moi " La vision est ce qui maintient tout ensemble ". Quand vous êtes dans un groupe, vous avez affaire à des personnalités différentes, il va y avoir de compromis. Si vous travaillez avec des gens avec qui vous partagez un certain rapport, il devient presque fraternel. Je suis tellement heureux de faire partie de Mozayik et je compte partager encore beaucoup plus d'années avec le groupe car la musique que nous jouons n'a pas une durée de vie, elle ne devient pas obsolète ou démodée. Nous aimons la musique de jazz des années 60, n'est-ce pas?

E.M: Savez-vous danser? [Rires]


G.G: [rire] Oui! Je danse. Une fois que vous comprenez le rythme, il devient facile de danser.


E.M: Merci Gashford de partager votre expérience et votre sagesse avec nous.

Comentários


bottom of page