top of page

Maya Azucena , singer, writer, composer, social activist at the 9th International festival jazz of P


Maya Azucena , singer, writer, composer, social activist at the 9th International festival jazz of Port-au-Prince in January 2015

Eline magazine: Maya how do you feel about going to Haiti for the first time?


Maya Azucena: It's my first visit to Haiti and I am really excited. I have been based in Brooklyn New York with a lot of Haitian community around me and I participated in several benefits for Haiti from New York. This is my first opportunity and I am looking forward to make music there and interact with young people, hear the local music and see the progress that had happened since after the earthquake.


As a social activist I use music of a way to support different causes and contribute to the conversation in protecting the well being of women and girls by the power of music. Music allows me to deliver a message to thousands of people.


I am very happy to be part of that festival, I will bring my own musician and also I'll be given an original concert and a workshop. I will concentrate on encouraging people to express themselves using their voices in terms of being empowered. That workshop is design to the general population where anybody from any field can participate.

As a professional I became very clear about my music as a mission since after 9/11. A lot of us right here in New York felt powerless not knowing what to do to help when we were losing lots of lives. My power to help people is my gift, I had the desire to go out there and sing in order to help healing heart and soul, 2001 was a clear focus for me. Haiti is not only what you see in the TV, people of Haiti shouldn't be treated like charity, they are human being with dream, beauty and hope and I am ready to go over there share my experience and knowledge with them.


bottom of page