top of page

The man behind the " LeVenity" Brand

We can declare without contest that We, Haitians are intelligent, all nations agreed, we are hard workers. Haitians continues to shine and show their abilities to accomplish the extraordinary. This is the case of Venny Etienne, Haitian - American, born of a Haitians father and mother, who won a scholarship to Paris " The City of Lights " . This year was not his first participation at the Fashion Group International Dallas scholarship competition, in two occasions he went he did not succeed, this year was his third time at the competition but his determination and his rage to win crowned him, Venny Etienne, now ranks among the designers who won the scholarship in Paris in 47-year history of FGI Dallas annual event.

Eline Magazine: First tell me about your family Venny


Venny: I was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY both my mother and father were hard workers while growing in a household of 3 other sisters and 2 other brothers. I am not married and no kids.


E.M How did you get into the design industry? where the idea of becoming a designer came from?


Venny: Well, back in my hometown, I was part of this organization called LAKAY Entertainment, were Jackson Chery's vision was to empower young people through many facets such as music, fashion, etc. He would hold out an annual fashion show where I would participate as a model. One year I asked him if I could present a collection of clothes because I was really inspired by the whole process. So the following year I went to a thrift store and bought old blazers that I would later give a new look to and present to the next fashion show. That experience is what started this whole journey.


E.M: Where the inspiration on how to create each piece or design come from?


Venny: I am inspired by many elements and energy, it all depends on the moment. Whether it's a song, a piece of art at a museum, architecture, culture, etc.


E.M: When was the last time you went to Haiti?


Venny: Unfortunately I have never visited Haiti, however I plan to go there next year. And that is a priority to me. I am interested in the idea to showcase a beautiful collection for the beautiful country.

E.M: Do you do women and men clothes only?


Venny: Women only but I have sometimes created men pieces for private clients.


E.M: Who are your clients?


Venny: My clients are affluent, sophisticated women that hold a sense of confidence.



E.M Tell me the story about how you get to market your design at this level?


Venny: I connected myself with a close circle of industry leaders that really guided me to the right places to showcase my garments. When I first started out my motto was to show my work everywhere I could. But that is not always the best case. The most important thing is to make sure that you have a product that people want and market in a way that is innovative and attractive. Mastering that formula will get you far. That is where I am right now, I have learned how to market myself like no one else has in the past.


E.M: When is your next fashion show appearance?


Venny: We are showing our collection in L.A Style Fashion Week in October 2015, and our Spring 2016 collection will open the show in Dallas during the same month.


E.M: Where LeVenity collection can be found?


Venny: Currently, we take custom order from clients locally and those who request from our website.

E.M: Any short or long term goals?


Venny: In the near future, if God will, we are looking to expand our brand and have our garments stocked in boutiques in major cities within the U.S.


E.M: What would be your tips to those who wants to become a well known designer?


Venny: With faith and perseverance you can truly do anything you set your heart to. Your only competition should be yourself and it is ok sometimes to be your worst critic, you produce your best results that way. And have fun at the same time. don’t let work get to you too much. You only live once.


Visit our Fashion section to see some of the LeVenity collection http://www.elinefleury.com/#!fashion/c1aou

bottom of page