top of page

The first black woman to be featured on the front of a U.S. bill

The U.S Treasury Department, which produces the U.S nation's money, made a big announcement. It plans to put women on some bills starting in 2020.

On change will be to put Harriet Tubman on the front of the $20 bill. That will make her the first African-American and first woman in more than 100 years to be featured on the front of a U.S bill. Harriet will replace Andrew Jackson, the nation's seventh president.

Tubman was born a slave in Maryland around 1820, she was a leader against slavery in the U.S and was forced to work on a farm for no pay. As a young woman, Tubman escaped to freedom, then she risked her life to help many other slaves escape.

" I freed a thousand slaves I could have freed a thousand more if only they knew they were slaves."

"Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world. "

"I had reasoned this out in my mind, there was one of two things I had a right to, liberty or death; if I could not have one, I would have the other."

Source: Stanford University ( Frederic Osada/ Teddy Seguin/ Jim McMahon/ MapMan R/

Photo Credit: History.com

bottom of page